HTML (& soon CSS)

Today I started learning HTML & CSS through Code Academy’s preview course.

This is going well.  It’s starting off really basic which is great for me as I’m a complete beginner.  The basis of the language seems very intuitive and easy to pick up *happy face*

In the course I learnt about “boilerplate code”.  This is the basis of the HTML coding structure – the minimum requirements in setting up HTML code.  This consists of:

  • Declaring the code as html
  • Then actually putting a <html> in the code so that the interpreter knows html code is coming.  The first step isn’t enough!
  • Having a <head> section which doesn’t affect the body of the page that you see , however…
  • …it can have a <title> which is the title shown in the tab heading in the web page
  • <body> is then your actually text shown on page.

Afterwards I progressed onto basic setup of content using headers (<h1>), paragraphs, anchors and using self-closing image notation.

I’ve absolutely missed out with this.  As a teenager I knew a few people who could make websites and they were like wizards! The basics are basic, and if even knowing that I could have been a wizard (Harry).

I’ve only just started the section on CSS but it was so powerful to see how it completely changes the dynamics of a webpage.  I’m sure this is very mundane to other novices out there but the example provided in the course did shock me.  It shows the impact CSS has on HTML content.

mind-blown

Such an amateur….

Leave a Reply

